Bowties + Smashbox

Happy Tuesday everyone 🙂 I spent several hours on Sunday trying to get re-inspired by my (what sometimes feels like) limited closet collection. I came up with a bunch of new ideas for pieces I have been hanging onto, but only have worn once!! Unfortunately…they are all paired with skirts…and it’s not supposed to get above 30 here all week. Le sigh…

Realizing that on Monday morning, I somehow managed to pull together something slightly warmer. Yesterday’s LOTD:

20140210-211946.jpg Cream v-neck sweater: Forever 21
Burgundy bow-tie blouse: Forever 21 (I’ve owned this blouse for two years…and I shamefully admit this is the first time I’ve worn it. I knew it was pretty and feminine, but I never knew what to pair with it! Hello new fave sweater/blouse combo!)
Gray skinnies: Delia’s
Burgundy almond-toe wedges: Forever 21

20140210-211957.jpgSince it was Monday, I also put together my “Makeup-Monday” LOTD: “Smashbox Try-It Kit.” This kit retails for $19 and I’ve seen it at Sephora and Ulta, but I’m sure they have it elsewhere. The 5-piece kit includes:

img-thing .out=jpg&size=l&tid=73874357-Smashbox Photo-Finish Oil-Free Foundation Primer
-Smashbox Photo Finish Lid Primer
-Smashbox Lipgloss in Illume
-Smashbox Full Exposure Mascara
-Smashbox Limitless Eye Liner in Onyx

FOTD, order of application, and review:

20140210-212006*Smashbox Photo-Finish Oil-Free Foundation Primer – I was expecting this to be a white lotion-y cream, but it was actually a translucent gel. It goes on silky smooth and has no odor to it. I will be using this again!

Smashbox CC Cream in Light – this was a sample packet I had received in one of my many beauty hauls and I have to say, I was not impressed. I applied this generously all over my face but it quickly turned cakey and became difficult to rub into the skin, making me somewhat self-conscious all day of that too-much-makeup look :/

Bareminerals Mineral Veil Compact in Translucent

*Smashbox Photo Finish Lid Primer – again with the cakeyness. I felt it was difficult to rub into the skin and actually felt a little rough. I think I’ll stick with my TooFaced Lid Primer 🙂

Eyelash curler

*Smashbox Full Exposure Mascara – I am a big fan of this mascara. Truthfully, I already had this mascara before I got it in the try-it kit. I saved the unopened sample-size provided in the try-it kit for a possible giveaway in the future (same goes for the eyeliner! Woot!). This is the best mascara I have tried out of my dozen or so I’ve accumulated over the holiday season. It glides onto the lashes so easily and only take a couple strokes to really increase the length! It isn’t waterproof though…my only complaint.

*Smashbox Limitless Eye Liner in Onyx – HELP!!! Oh pencil liners, how I have such difficulty applying you to the upper lash line. I went the safe route and only used on my bottom lash line for a more dramatic effect. This pencil goes on so easily and the color payoff is strong.—–I found it difficult to sharpen w/o breaking, so if anyone has any suggestions, PLEASE comment–whether about application or a good pencil sharpener. I literally wasted HALF of it already trying to sharpen…but it broke every time i pressed it to my eye after that!

Tarte Sugar-Lip Scrub

*Smashbox Lipgloss in Illume – Usually lipglosses drive me crazy–they’re sticky, my hair always gets stuck in them, and they dry out my lips. This one, however, went on rather evenly. It goes on nude with a brilliant shine. Just like the Nars gloss blogged about previously, I actually managed to keep this one on for a full three hours! 🙂

The pieces in this kit are absolutely worth trying for only $19! So add it to your wish-list 🙂

XO

One thought on “Bowties + Smashbox

  1. Pingback: 100th Post: My Favorite Looks | myclosetisfull

Leave a Reply

