Part 3: 6 Months Down

Reflections, reflections…where do I begin rambling?

If you’ve seen a few of my posts, you’ve probably figured out that I am not buying new clothes for a year! I hit my halfway point earlier this month (!!!), and I have to admit…it’s not nearly as awful as I forebode it to be.

I’ve allowed myself certain exceptions in that I can sell clothes at the local discount store, and I can use the money I make to spend anyway I want. In other words, I pretty much have to sell 5-10 things to buy one new item.

Okayokay, I have ONE confession to make: I slipped up once when I was buying my suit for New Orleans 2 weeks ago. I came across the most PERFECT navy Tommy Hilfiger cardigan. It was $63…but I couldn’t stop thinking about it. I bought it with the rest of my suit to bury the cost. So…I guess I won’t be buying anything else for a while until I recoup the cost :/

bluecardiI would be lying if I said I haven’t worn it 5+ times already…it really is the perfect navy cardi I was looking for. Moving on.

I have been relatively good otherwise, purging several items in my closet that I have finally accepted don’t fit or look right. I’ve also learned to appreciate both new and old items, forcing a creativity out of myself that I didn’t know was there. I used to buy cheap and in bulk, but after having to get rid of so many items because they were simply uncomfortable or falling apart, I want to invest more in quality. Like the Tommy Hilfiger cardi! 🙂 Haha, just kidding. I still have a long ways to go in terms of a total wardrobe overhaul, but I’m well past where I thought I would be.

I thought it best to set some goals for myself for the next 6 months, to really get the most out of this experience:

  • The Rubber Band Method – tie a rubber band (or piece of string, whatever you have on hand) around each hanger in your closet. Cut the band off when you wear that item. After several months, evaluate what you have not worn and decide if it’s really worth keeping or not.
  • Log My Outfits – I invested in an app called “Stylebook” (~$4) where you can basically turn your wardrobe into a digital closet (anyone reminiscing about 1995’s Clueless?). I won’t go into all the amazing things you can do with this app, but logging your outfits by day is one of them. You can run different stats such as your 25 most worn items, least worn items, cost per wear, etc. This is similar to the rubber band method, but I thought since I’ve paid for the app, I should use all of it’s features!
  • Invest in a GOOD DSLR Camera – enough said. This need extends beyond the boundaries of this blog, but I am out of my league here. Recommendations anyone?!
  • Mini-Challenges – nothing got me out of my comfort zone quite like my challenge last fall of wearing ten items in ten days that I’ve never worn or knew how to style before. Challenges make me excited about what I’m doing–they inspire me to reach outside of my boundaries, and make for more interesting reads.

That’s all I have for tonight. Less-wordy posts from here on out! 🙂 I leave you to the clip that I drooled over in the 90’s…wishing I had a closet just like Cher’s. AS IF!

2 thoughts on “Part 3: 6 Months Down

  1. YES, Stylebook has been a lifesaver. It’s also how I keep track of whether I wear something. At the end of the year there is a feature you can select where it will show you all the items you never wore (assuming you logged your clothes daily on the calendar). I use this app more than facebook, that’s how obsessed I am with it 😉

    • I can’t take the credit here…when I first came across your blog, I sort of stalked your posts to find the app you could take pictures with. It was a lifesaver! I need to do some updates as I have got rid of so much! Thanks for the unintended recommendation 🙂

Leave a Reply

