This is why I can’t have nice things…

I have noticed lately that I REALLY need a new purse. Like…really. Not like I’m bored with the one that I have and just want something new…

IMG_7446I started using this brown bowler-bag-style purse last fall when it was brand new. As you can see, the zipper pouch has completely pulled away from the purse, there are two separate holes (not counting the one I already sewed up) in the bottom, the zipper has fallen off for the 3rd time, and then there are the usual signs of external wear.

Maybe it’s the quality of the purses I buy (this one is from Forever 21), or maybe I just abuse the crap out of them. I mean, a purse isn’t just a purse anymore–it’s a personal survival kit! At any given time I have: chapstick, antibiotic ointment, a mirror compact, a lighter (I don’t even smoke!), headphones, a makeup bag, various lipsticks, a mini hairbrush, my wallet, a pack of gum, lotion, sunglasses, keys, perfume, a mini-nail kit, and jewelry. Yes, that is an exact inventory of what I just checked was currently in my bag.

82212_35521-hamilton-signature-satchel-vanilla_largeI’ve been obsessed with Michael Kors purses in the last year. It all started when I walked into the MK store on 5th Ave. in NYC last July. I don’t own many designer-label items, nor can I afford such a luxury right now in my life. I considered impulse buying this beaut before my no-new-clothes challenge started last September, but I just couldn’t bring myself to face the price tag: $298, ick.

While going through the remaining skeletons in my closet that were once purses, I realized something: I can’t have nice things, purses at the least. As evidenced above, I just don’t treat them well enough. I would go out and buy a new one today if I wasn’t already (confession) negative in my “spendable-money.” Le sigh. Guess this one’s going on my wish list.

XO

5 thoughts on “This is why I can’t have nice things…

  1. I have to say your pictures made me laugh! That has happened to me before.I have a few comments. First, I have had both designer bags and bags from Target etc. There is a reason why designer bags are so much money. They are made with better materials and last a lot longer. I too noticed that bags that I wore a ton that were not expensive seemed to only last a little while. “Leather” started cracking, zippers broke off, just like yours did. Here is my suggestion. I feel you on not having the extra money to spend ( same boat). However, a $50 Steve Madden bag might last a lot longer than Forever 21 and Target bags. TJ Maxx has these and Michael Kors bags for under $250. Also, you can find bags around the same price at outlet stores. Hope this helps šŸ™‚
    -Alaina

  2. Pingback: The A List: Things I “Need” | myclosetisfull

Leave a Reply

