Laura Geller Beauty: Garden Party Review

Hello OOTD + Makeup Review, it’s been a while!

IMG_0334Salmon-colored knit sweater: Forever 21 |ย Floral tie-waisted shorts: Forever 21

IMG_0262IMG_0267Color-enriched lipstick in Pink Mink
BB cream all-in-one skin perfecting beauty balm SPF 21 in Medium
Supreme lip spackle lip primer
Retractable baked powder brush
Baked gelato vivid flower blush in Pink Dahlia
I-Care waterproof eyeliner in Caffe Mocha

IMG_0308 IMG_0316Review of the Garden Party set:

Lipstick: the Pink Mink lipstick actually looks a bit more like a dusty-reddish-pink in person, especially when paired with the lip spackle. The staying power was average, while the moisture was divine.

BB Cream: I was actually quite upset when I pulled this out of the box and saw how dark it was. I realized after I purchased it that there was no option for selecting a skin-tone, which kind of sucks. However, I put it on anyway to give it a fair review and it actually rubbed into my skin quite well. It left a sunkissed glow and had a subtle shimmer/highlighter in its finish. My main complaint here is how greasy it made me skin feel. I have normal to dry skin, and after a few hours of wear, the oiliness felt a little suffocating.

Lip Spackle: I’ll be honest, when I first opened this box, I thought this was a concealer HA. So much for being a part-time beauty blogger. At least I realized my mistake before attempting to utilize it as such. I was a bit nervous about putting this on my lips, as my lips get very dried out. It had the exact effect I was dreading, but man did that change after I applied my lipstick! The sticking power was like a magnet and the nude base amplified the color on my lips. This will be one to keep in my beauty bag, as long as I use a moisturizing lipstick with it.

IMG_0272Can we all just stop for a second and gush over how pretty this blush compact is? Guh! I’m excited to have a camera that can actually capture this level of detail ๐Ÿ™‚

Brush/blush: Despite my friends’ (and I’m sure bloggers out there would agree) negativity towards retractable brushes, I actually like the convenience of them. I can carry it in my makeup bag without leaving a layer of blush/bronzer on every other item in the bag. The brush itself is very soft and since the tube swallows it up, you can control the tightness of the bristles. If you want dramatic color, you can tighten the applicator, but if you want a softer effect, you can draw the tube all the way down. The baked blush is a pretty pink-sunset color, that goes on smoothly and evenly with its mix of light and dark pink, with just a hint of shimmer.

Eyeliner: I typically prefer liquid-liners because I can get a more precise line on my lids, but this brown retractable liner gave off a much more natural look, especially when applied on the lower-lash line. The liner itself retails for $20, which I would not buy again for that price. There are perfectly good and equal drugstore substitutes for the same size/quality. At least I got a second liner in Eggplant for “free” with the purchase of the set.

The set as a whole is a bit pricey at $49, but all the “samples” are enormous. As far as I can tell, it is only offered at Ulta. I used a coupon a while back for 20% off, bringing it down to about $40. I’m not sure if I would buy the set again, but I would definitely repurchase the lipstick, lip spackle, and blush.

XX

5 thoughts on “Laura Geller Beauty: Garden Party Review

Leave a Reply

