The Empties: May Edition

img_0452I’ve collected a few items throughout the month of May that ran out, and now I must ask myself: buy it (again) or boot it?

John Frieda Sheer Blonde Lustrous Touch Shampoo & Conditioner: I first spotted this duo by mistake while looking for the regular Sheer Blonde Moisturizing Shampoo/Conditioner at Walgreens. I’m a fan of trying new things, so I picked them up. They’ve been in my shower for almost a year now, as I switch between them and my go-to Dove combo. I like the scent, but I have yet to find a blonde-specific shampoo/conditioner that has really wowed me. While the tone-correcting effect was apparent, there just wasn’t much difference in my hair texture, which is a big deal for me. I need something more nourishing, as my hair is very dry, and I look for products that both improve color and texture. I probably won’t buy these again, but I would pick up something else to try from the John Frieda line.

Clean & Clear Continuous Control Acne Cleanser: I have used this face cleanser for 6 years, which speaks volumes for how much I adore it. I had pretty bad acne in high school and the occasional breakout in college, which was when I decided to pick up this bad boy. I immediately noticed how clean my skin felt, without drying it out. It actually makes your face feel cool after washing. This product was always followed up with their matching face lotion. The combo absorbed quickly into my skin and I could put makeup on within 3 minutes of washing/moisturizing.

My only fault (which was originally my favorite ingredient in this product) is that it is made with benzoyl peroxide. Benzoyl peroxide is an amazing acne cleanser found in most acne-treatment products, and I can attest to its effectiveness on my skin. That being said, it strips the color out of any clothing it touches. I went through 3 towels before I made the designated “face-washing” towel. Since my acne has mostly cleared up over the years, I am moving towards more natural face-cleansing products (like the Fresh Soy Cleanser), as I wonder if daily peroxide application has negative long-term effects on the skin. I will buy Clean & Clear’s Cleanser again and store it under my sink for the occasional breakout 🙂

BareMinerals Pure Nourishing Moisturizer: I have organized all my beauty samples and am bound and determined to go through all of them! You’ll see a lot more of this size product popping up in Empties posts. This moisturizer came with my BareMinerals starter kit I purchased back in December. Honestly, the smell is very off–it reminds me a little too much of citronella. The moisturizing effect is average. I’ll be quick: I’ll boot it and keep going through my samples until I actually find one worth raving about!

Now onto my newest purchase:

beautyprotector_hairprotectingtrio_900x900_value_Beauty Protector Products: I am PUH-UMPED about this trio I ordered from Birchbox yesterday. I got the deluxe-sized Beauty Protector Protect & Detangle Spray in my first Birchbox package back in January, and I was actually upset when it ran out. I promised myself I would use at least a couple of my other heat-protectant spray samples before I actually spent money on another one, but nothing else has compared. The scent is out-of-this-world refreshing, and doesn’t fade even after 2 days w/o washing. It leaves hair soft, chock-full of volume, and revived my best friends natural curls in just a matter of seconds. When I saw they had a shampoo & conditioner, I knew it was fate. I also spent 200 of my Birchbox points I’ve accumulated and got the trio for only $30 (plus other freebies & free shipping!). That’s what I call a steal. I’m sure the S&C will be reviewed in the future.

XO

One thought on “The Empties: May Edition

Leave a Reply

