Sunset45 “Little Luxuries Box” Review: June vs. July

After reading about the up and coming beauty/fashion subscription box recommended by For Vanity’s Sake back in May, I knew I had to (cheat) subscribe.

This “Little Luxuries Box” is by a company called “Sunset 45.” It’s $30/month plus $5 for shipping.Ā  There are two types of box to choose from:

  • The Classic Box – “Select our Classics box for timeless pieces that you can wear season after season. The perfect accessories and beauty items for girls who appreciate understated luxury,” or
  • The Lavish Box – “Stay on top of the season with runway-ready fashion and beauty accessories. Our Lavish box is full of decadent adornments for girls who set trends and define taste.”

Yes, I know that this is actually a form of “cheating” for my challenge, as I’m not supposed to buy any new accessories, in addition to clothes, for the whole year. But the box was just too good a deal to pass up. At least initially (more on that later).

New Tribal” June Lavish Box

Each month has its own theme. When I received my first box in June, I almost fell out of my chair. It was above and beyond my expectation:

Statement Necklace – this necklace is no joke. It is heavy. Probably a 1/2-1 pound if I could guess. But the quality is immediately noticeable, and with it’s bright jewels, it could seriously steal the attention of anyone in the room when presented against a royal blue top.

Full-size OPI polish in “Dating a Royal” – retailing at $9 a pop, I was not expecting them to include a full-size polish!

Full-size NYX Butter Gloss in “Peach Cobbler” – again, full-size? Even at $5 per gloss I was impressed.

7th Heaven “Million Year Mud” Mask – I have not tried this mask yet, but look for it in a future review šŸ™‚

Statement Earrings – I wore these with some polka-dot orange skinnies and a navy tank-top to my best’s rehearsal, and got several compliments on them!

Hello Waffle Blush in “At Least I’ll Look Pretty” – goes on smooth, leaves a soft, glowing finish.

*Bonus* Sabine Pearl Earrings – as a thank you for signing up for their kickoff, they sent me a handwritten note and a pair of extra earrings they had from their May box! How lovely is that?!

I was absolutely smitten by Sunset 45 at this point. All of their jewelry items either came in pretty velvet pouches, or black ribbon-tied boxes. The “luxury” that they were trying to communicate was pretty spot-on. I just wish July’s box could have been better…

Starry Eyes” July Lavish Box

Ardell Natural Lashes – While the idea is fitting for the theme, I just can’t wear fake eyelashes. I’ve heard good things about “natural” looking lashes, but this particular set isn’t what I’d call “natural.” They’re too thick and would make me look like…well, I’ll just say bad. I look silly in false eyelashes. These will probably be given away šŸ™‚

Rose Gold Star-Cluster Earrings – I actually don’t mind these rose-gold earrings. They are certainly a statement piece, so I would have to wear something really basic with them, but I’ll be trying them on in the future!

Blue Half-Circle Rhinestone Earrings – these earrings look cheap and outdated. I feel like this is something I would have worn in late middle or early high-school, but if I wanted a set like them, I could probably pick them up at Claire’s for a couple bucks. Not a fan.

Rose Gold Starry Bracelet – I’m kind of torn on this piece. I hated it at first, but it’s slowly growing on me. I’m still not sure if I’ll keep it. It isn’t very comfortable and can cheapen up an outfit pretty quickly if you don’t thoughtfully plan it out. It doesn’t look very “luxurious,” in my opinion.

Star-burst Drop Earrings – this is actually my favorite piece in the set. I really, really like these earrings. Another great statement piece.

That’s it. Three pairs of earrings, a (cheap-looking) bracelet, and some fake eyelashes. This was really a let down after my June box. I was hoping for some more beauty products after getting the full-size products in “New Tribal,” but the false eyelashes won’t even work on me. I guess this is a chance you take with subscription boxes. Some you love, and some you hate. I will have to see how August’s box looks before I decide whether to continue my subscription (and recommendation) of the brand. Stay tuned!

XO

9 thoughts on “Sunset45 “Little Luxuries Box” Review: June vs. July

  1. Too bad you didn’t like the July box as much šŸ˜¦ but you’re right it’s a chance you take with subscription boxes, specially knowing that style is very subjective. But you are right, those rhinestones earrings are definitely not something I’d be excited about getting! I saw some necklaces from the July teaser that look very classic and elegant, lucky for those who get it.

    I’ve gotten some use out of the July accessories so I think they worked out well for me. Let’s hope August is so much better!! šŸ™‚

    • I was wondering, were your accessories silver or rose gold (like mine)? I thought they were the same at first and then as I looked at your bracelet more closely, it looked silver! My fingers are crossed for an amazing August box šŸ™‚ It’s still fun unwrapping and seeing everything, and I still like trying new things, so we’ll see!

      • Mine is actually silver šŸ™‚ I’ve been searching for other July boxes.. not very much results so far. I can’t wait for August. I wonder what the theme is. šŸ˜›

Leave a Reply

