The A List: Things I “Need”

Imagine the craziest, happiest expression you can think of. That’s me right now, because yesterday marks 1 month until I can go shopping again! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ That’s right–11 months down, 1 to go.

People keep asking me if I’m going to go crazy when this challenge is over, and the answer is: I don’t know. I’ve learned a lot about what I need and what I don’t need, defining my style a little better, quality vs. quantity, and many other lessons I plan on disclosing when September 6 is here.

I do know that there are certain gaps I’ve discovered in my wardrobe. I do know that I will be buying things. I can’t pretend that I’ve become a complete minimalist, and that I’m free from the binds of fashion and that addictive rush you get when you walk out of a store with a bag full of shiny new goodies. I also don’t want it all to have been for naught. I figure the best way to ease back into the mental realization is to define a few key things I’ll be looking for:

I’m going to use the word “need” here lightly, as in things to fill the gaps in my wardrobe. Obviously I can live without any of these items, but I consider many of them staples in a flexible (but not over-the-top) wardrobe.

Basic button-up shirt – I’ve only got one button up shirt I would call “nice,” and it’s too small and attracts lint like nobody’s business. I want a quality shirt I can wear with my suit.

Simple watch -There’s a certain Olivia Burton watch I’m very fond of posting about, but as an accessory, it’s not at the very top of my first-things-I-have-to-buy list. I can settle for a cheaper one in the meantime…

Purse (or two)I don’t treat (most) purses nicely. I’m sure if I had a designer purse I would treat it with the utmost care, but for now, I’m okay with spending $30 and getting about 6 months out of it. My tastes change a lot when it comes to them.

Kimono-style cover-up or cardigan – one of the only emerging fashion-trends that I’m really excited about this season. They’re so gorgeous and flowy! I’d wear it as a cover-up for the pool/beach or over a white tank with jean shorts when going out.

Red Converse high-tops – I actually considered buying these before my challenge because I really like them. I decided to wait and see if I’d still want them a year later. And I do! They’re a good everyday shoe, and I’d be lying if I said Lana Del Rey’s gorgeous music videos didn’t make me want a pair RIGHT NOW.

High-waisted jean shorts – I have several pairs of jean shorts, and even a few non-jean high-waisted shorts. Somehow I missed the overlap. These have been pretty popular for a couple years now and I don’t think they’re going anywhere soon.

Comfortable flip flops – I cherish the days when I could wear Old Navy flip-flops for hours on end, but they hurt my feet now. I’d like a nice, comfortable pair like these ones from Reef at DSW–something that will last, but not break the bank.

Jean jacket – I have a white jean jacket and a blue jean vest, but I’d like to have a regular jean jacket, especially around the office when the temperature reads 60 degrees. BRR.

White peplum top – timeless, classic, feminine, and near the top of my wishlist. I love white shirts, and the peplum trend is so girly, I have to have one.

Summer scarf (or two, three, four…) – I only have a couple scarfs that are suitable for summer, and would like some floral or water-color ones to mix and match with my wardrobe, or to spruce up an otherwise dull outfit.

Nudey-pink heels – I have nude heels but I adore this pink color. This may be one of my new favorite colors to wear and it is neutral enough to match several things in my wardrobe.

Plain black tee – another staple I managed to miss in my wardrobe. Black tees look good under everything! You can also spruce up a black tee with a big statement necklace or jacket πŸ™‚

Oxford flats – I adore Oxfords. All of them. Lace-up heels or flats, doesn’t matter. I bought a pair from Forever 21 online a while back and absolutely loved the look, but they were unbearable to wear and didn’t make it long before I sold them. Ever since then, I’ve coveted a white or neutral pair of Oxfords, and these Topshop ones are terrific (especially for the price!).

Feminine earrings – Earrings are one of my favorite accessories because they are so versatile andΒ  you can wear them with every outfit. Necklaces and bracelets can be a bit trickier if the clothes you are wearing are already too busy. I want some new earrings that catch the eye, but aren’t necessarily statement pieces–something feminine like these rose-gold filigree earrings.

I’m sure this list is not all-exhaustive. In fact, I know it’s not because I have another “B” list of items I want, but don’t necessarily “need.” I know I will walk away with more than I plan, but so long as I set a $ amount I’m comfortable with spending, hopefully I can abide by that…

What are some of your closet staples?

XO

9 thoughts on “The A List: Things I “Need”

  1. I get so much use from my denim jacket, it’s unreal. I wear it every season. I’ve even thought about buying a 2nd one in a darker wash (mine is medium wash). Unfortunately I have too many other “wants” on my current Fall shopping list to fit in another denim jacket.

    Also +1 on the crisp button down shirt. Another versatile item for both casual and business wear!!

    • I actually wasn’t that convinced that I was going to buy a lot until I started making this list…now I feel like this month is going to “feel” the longest out of the 12! I need to detox my wardrobe some more before it’s over πŸ™‚

  2. I recently bought a high-waisted jean shorts and a kimono cardigan as well! Thumbs up for the list, sounds sensible and classic, I’m sure you’ll be able to use the items often!!

Leave a Reply

