My Year Without Clothes Shopping Part 4: Shopping Again

You may or may not be wondering why I have not yet updated what I have purchased so far!! The answer to that is…well…I’m still purchasing, and still returning. Haha

The day my challenge was over (Saturday, September 6th), my best and I made a day of shopping! We went to H&M, Charlotte Russe, Forever 21, 2 different Victoria’s Secrets, American Eagle, and a few other places as well. I was so good…all in all buying about $120 worth of stuff at H&M and a $30 purse at Charlotte Russe (I felt very aged at that store…they have changed their branding so much that it seems to appeal to more early teen girls). I know that is still a lot of money, but it is nothing to what I thought I might spend!

I had been extremely picky in my selections, not letting myself spend, for example, $20 on a tank top or $30 on a pair of shorts, especially with fall coming up. I looked for unique items missing in my wardrobe, instead of getting duplicates that would just get lost.

I wish I could say I was still that good today. This past week has proven a lot of temptation and little resistance in my attitude. I spent hours at Target dropping a ton more money, though mostly on items that I am missing. However, I have also bought a pair of shoes on Amazon, a couple items on Modcloth, a medium order on Forever 21, and another large order from Target… 😦 I am currently wading through this massive sea of guilt and deciding which items I will be taking back. I guess this part is to be continued…

For now, I will show off some items I DID keep and have been LOVING! Items marked with an asterisk* are new:

IMG_9422*Pink top: H&M | *Black/gold leaf necklace: H&M | Black pants: H&M | Black heels: Targets

IMG_9479*Magenta cardigan: Target | *Gray/yellow/pink dress: Target | *Blush-pink rhinestone flats: Target

IMG_9493*Blue floral blouse: Target | *White skinnies: Target | Braided sandals: Aeropostale

IMG_9520*Gray/pink/black floral dress: Target | Black cardigan: Forever 21 | Black heels: Target

My Rules For Shopping Moving Forward:

1. Limit online shopping, especially when unsure of size and/or final sale items.
2. Just because it’s a sale, doesn’t mean you have to have it. If you wouldn’t pay full price for the item, there’s a chance you might just be buying it because it’s on sale, not because you love it.
3. Don’t be fooled into spending a minimum amount to get a “free” item. Victoria’s Secret is notorious for their “free” bags and towels…with a $75 purchase!
4. Establish a monthly budget and stick to it. As simple as it sounds, this is the hardest and is still in the works.
5. Before buying an item, ask these key questions:
-Is this item unique or do I already have something similar?
-Will I get a lot of wear out of it?
-Will I still love this item a year from now?
-If I wait, can I get a better deal on this item (if so, make note of the size and price)?
-Can you afford it?

Well, that concludes this little summarized series on things I have learned over the course of the last year not shopping. Hopefully I can truly apply these lessons and strengthen my control over my shopping addiction πŸ™‚ If you have read all of these parts, thank you for your diligence and support. If not, thanks for stopping by and if you like my blog, please press the “follow” button!

XO Ali

13 thoughts on “My Year Without Clothes Shopping Part 4: Shopping Again

  1. Ugh! I can’t stand those “discounts” for reaching a minimum purchase amount. They are always cleverly calculated so that you can’t meet the minimum with just one or two items… I always wind up falling $2-3 short. And then I end up tacking on an overpriced pair or socks or whatever is the least expensive item in the store so I can get the discount.

    Good for you on planning to carefully review your upcoming orders before deciding on what to keep. That is one advantage of online shopping, you can try on at home with the coordinating items you would actually wear with the new garment… plus it’s nice to just walk around in something for 10 or 15 minutes to see if it is truly comfortable. I love online shopping for that reason, but I have been guilty of keeping items I didn’t really like because the return process seemed like too much of a hassle.

    • OMG, I know exactly what you mean. I was $2 short and almost added something on, and then thought about how ridiculous it would have been to spend that much for a bag that I didn’t need and would rarely use. I don’t have a problem with returning online items, but that’s because I ALWAYS buy more than I want or need…blegh I have a bunch of bags ready for when I go out next to return stuff…

  2. I am beyond impress that you were able to go an entire year without shopping, good for you! I can’t even go two weeks without picking something up from the mall.. it’s an addiction. Great tips for shopping, they’re ones that everyone should be following! I will definitely be attempting to control myself from now on when it comes to rule three, I am a sucker for gift with purchases. Thanks for sharing your experiences πŸ™‚

    • Hi Kristen! Thanks for your wonderful comment πŸ™‚ I need to be better about following my own rules as well, ha. It was helpful to really learn my wardrobe inside and out, and to take that knowledge and apply it when making new purchases.

  3. I love the top from H&M. We don’t have H&M stores in our country yet but first branch is opening soon. Hoping they carry the same top as yours since it looks really wearable and would last a long time. BTW, I like your tips on shopping. I badly need them as I get over-excited when I shop especially during sale. =P

    • Which country are you from? They finally opened their online store to the U.S. about a year ago, and it was a life changer! Haha They just put one in locally, however, so I don’t have to guess as much as I used to. Thanks for your kind words ❀

  4. Pingback: New Years Resolutions Pt.2: 2015 | myclosetisfull

Leave a Reply

