September Subscriptions: Ipsy, Sunset 45, & Vegan Cuts

Ipsy: Street Style

IMG_9622This is my very first Ipsy bag, and I have to admit, my first impression was not great. It took SO long for it to get here. My friends were excitedly posting about their bags the week before I even got a shipping notification for mine. When I saw the sparkly pink packaging at my doorstep on Saturday, I was elated it was finally here! But the bag inside looked rough. As you can see from the picture, it was a mess. There were dents and tears in the fabric of the studded bag, and creases all over the place. Not a great first impression of such a raved-about beauty subscription.

Anyways, let’s move on to the contents of the bag–AWESOME! I received:

  • Maybelline Master Glaze Blush Stick in Make A Mauve – this is my favorite item in the box so far; I was worried the color was going to be too dark, but one brush of the stick on my cheek and a little rubbing does wonders for adding color! My cheeks look flushed without it looking clown-like, and I found it lasts much longer than traditional powdered blushes.
  • Nourish Organic Mositurizing Cream Face Cleanser – this is a gel-type cleanser that gently foams as you rub it into your skin. The smell is alright, but it leaves skin feeling soft and clean, and the sample size should last me a longggg time.
  • Pacifica 7 Free Nail Polish in Red Red Wine – this color goes on a beautiful blood-red color, that looks different to me in various light settings. Although it goes on smoothly, two coats is needed to evenly distribute the color. Did I mention it’s vegan-friendly?! Yes!
  • Briogeo Don’t Despair, Repair! Deep Conditioning Mask – this conditioning mask was nothing special. I put it on my hair after shampooing with my Redken, and left it on for about 4 minutes. I didn’t feel it conditions nearly as much as a regular conditioner, as my hair was really knotted and difficult to brush through (and pulled out a lot of hair) while styling.
  • Be A Bombshell Smooth Criminal Powder – have not sampled yet.

Sunset 45: Classic Lines

sunset45-2

I was pretty happy with my Sunset 45 box this month, though I’m still not sure it’s worth $35. I am having a hard time actually cancelling because I like most of what they send me, I just don’t think it’s always worth $35…decisions, decisions. September’s theme was “Classic Lines:”

  • Gold bar necklace – this necklace is my favorite piece in the box. It’s simple and understated, the perfect piece to add when you’re going for classic luxury.
  • Gold bangles – I’m kind of “meh” about bangles, because they are usually too uncomfortable for me to wear all day. They usually don’t stay on my wrists very well, and the constant jangling of them going up and down when I move my arm drives me crazy. I do like that these are a bit thicker than other bangles I’ve tried, so you can wear one or all 7!
  • Absolute New York Waterproof Gel Eyeliner in Black – this liner is fantastic. Because it’s gel, it glides so effortlessly across the skin, but be sure to let it dry before testing its waterproof capabilities. Gels can smudge easily when first applied.
  • Absolute New York Nail Art Paint in Black and White – have not experimented with these yet, but I like the long skinny tubes. Feels more luxurious that way πŸ˜‰
  • Gold crystal-chain necklace – this necklace is pretty long so you can wear it as is, or double it up!

Vegan Cuts: End of Summer Snacking

IMG_1814This is my second experience with a food box subscription, and my first time with Vegan Cuts.Β  This box included a bunch of warm-weather treats:

  • Somersault Snack Co. nut-free sunflower nuggets
  • Snikiddy vegetable chips
  • UB Super meal replacement powder (shake)
  • Surf Sweets organic watermelon ring candies – yum! Just like the ones in the gas station, but organic!
  • Ziggy Marley Organics sea salt and pepper hemp seeds – what does a hemp seed taste like?
  • Chic-a-Peas falafel chickpeas – sadly not as good as I hoped, and I’m a falafel junkie.
  • Smooze ice pop – I love these pops. I got on in my Love With Food box and it was so delicious! I don’t know if I liked this flavor as much, but the brand is definitely worth checking out!
  • Pur-Absorb Iron water packets – I am afraid to try these, haha. Just like multivitamins, I can’t stomach iron-laced items, because I think iron tastes like blood. I know that’s a weird thing to say, but surely there is someone out there that has had a bloody nose and knows what I mean! Blegh!
  • Neat meat-replacement mix – I was very skeptical. You just add eggs and water and cook it on a stove-top like you would ground beef (which I’ve never done in my life…even when I wasn’t a vegetarian). But. it. was. DELICIOUS. We made it with tacos. I can’t stand vegetarian products that taste too much like meat (like veggie “sausage” patties) because it freaks me out, but this had all the zesty flavoring of a taco mix with just some vegetable protein holding it together. It was so good, but the cheapest I can find it is 6/$30. Yikes!
  • Beanfield bean and rice ranch-flavored chips

I had a hard time getting everything to sit (and stay put) while I took photos, so I’m sorry about the poor quality of the photo. As far as the subscription box goes, it’s another check-mark on my list of boxes I wanted to try. At $19/month, this will be the only Vegan Cuts snack box I try, as I just can’t see the price value of food boxes. They do have a beauty box I’m itching to get my hands on though, so maybe that will be in a future review. I love me some new beauty products (but I really don’t need anymore!).

What subscription boxes do you get?!

XO Ali

11 thoughts on “September Subscriptions: Ipsy, Sunset 45, & Vegan Cuts

  1. I’ve heard SO much about those Ipsy bags/subscriptions. While I think that it’s a great idea because you can sample different products, I just can’t get into paying for something like that. That Vegan one sounds cool too! I hope that you’re having a great week! πŸ™‚

    • For $10 a month, I think some of the bags are worth the value πŸ™‚ Ipsy and Birchbox are only $10/month, and you can cancel at any time! But don’t listen to me, I’ve got an addiction πŸ˜‰

  2. Hey girl! Long time no talk πŸ˜›
    I agree with the Ipsy bag. It looked way too beat this month. Love your Sunset45 accessories though! I wish I had gotten those bangles. I’m kind of a bangles freak.

    Very cool concept on the last box. Aren’t subscription boxes addicting..?

Leave a Reply

