New Years Resolutions Pt.2: 2015

It’s about to get real.

(aka…long post warning)

It’s that time of year: everyone’s making resolutions, and I absolutely love it. I don’t understand why some people get so annoyed over New Years resolutions. I think it’s absolutely great when people challenge themselves to be better, no matter what time of the year it is. Who cares if it’s cliche?! You go, you!

I’m always setting goals for myself, whether I successfully achieve them or not. It’s part of my OCD! I adore lists and the feeling you get when you check something off your list! I prefer they be attainable, well-defined goals, as I have a hard time following through with something if I can’t track my progress!

When I was thinking about what I wanted to do in 2015, I asked myself:

Who do you want to become? How do you want others to see you?

Polished. Professional. Driven. Kind. Generous. Dependable. Warm. Smart. Caring. Organized.

The problem is, most of my answers aren’t necessarily specific. Therefore, I will be creating/defining my resolutions as I’m typing, so bare with me!

Resolution #1: Run my first marathon.

This is quite possibly the easiest in terms of descriptions, and yet the hardest physical thing I’ll have done in my life up till this point. Running a marathon has been on my life’s bucket list for years now. I have 6 half-marathons under my belt, but 26.2 miles is very different. That’s 4-5 straight hours of running! Regardless, a good training plan is key. Also, telling people you’ve registered for a race is a great way to stick to your goal! It’s easy to flake out if nobody knows, but if you’ve got people checking in on you, you’re more likely to succeed.

Registration for the Air Force Marathon opened on January 1st (and at discount pricing!), and I signed up! It’s my favorite race. I’ve done the half 3 times. The race is in September and there are roughly 15,000 runners, 15,000 spectators, and over 2,000 volunteers who help make it possible. My favorite part of the race is running through the enormous crowd of people at the finish line who endlessly cheer you on. Actual training will begin in May, though I need to be averaging about 25 miles a week by that point. Eek!

Resolution #2: Be a better person.

Doesn’t get much more vague than that, am I right? After thinking for some time what that means, I did a quick Google search to see what others perceive a “good person” to be. The first result was an WikiHow article about “How to be a Good Person.” At first, I chuckled at the idea of an internet article claiming to define who and what defines a good person. As I read on though, it actually had many tips and points that I think I can add to my life. Some of these I already try to practice, but there is plenty of room for improvement:

Stop comparing yourself with others.

We always want what we don’t have. Sure, many people are better off than us, but there are also many who don’t have it as well. We have to remember to count the many blessings we already have, and not take anything for granted. I have a home. A family. Friends. A job. I have love. What more do we really need? Love yourself.

Do an act of kindness everyday.

Compliment someone. Pay for the person in line behind you. Give someone a small gift. Call a friend you know is going through a hard time. Smile at a stranger. Pick up a piece of trash.

Be a better listener than a talker, and make your words count.

Limit negativity. Don’t say anything you wouldn’t want said about you. Try to change the tone of the conversation when it’s going in a negative direction. Everything you say either makes has the chance to make the world better or worse.

Don’t be in a hurry. Enjoy the simple things in life.

Stop and smell the roses, ha. Enjoy the present moment and don’t lose yourself and waste your time always focusing on the future. It’s good to plan, but don’t waste these finer moments. You’ll never get them back. Don’t rush from place to place. Don’t be rude to others because they might interfere with your hurried plans.

To read the whole article, click here.

indexThere’s a line in a Hush Sound song that has been trapped in my head for a few months now: “When you’re gone, will they say your name?” It’s not that I want acknowledgement for the things I will do, but I want to be remembered in a positive light when I’m gone.

Resolution #3: Be responsible.

Again, pretty vague. Generally speaking, I like to think I’m pretty responsible for my age. I have my license and a professional career. I pay my bills on time. I don’t get over my head in debt. I have a plan in life and adjust well. I’m thinking little things here.

We all know its irresponsible to text and drive. Do I still do it? Yeah, sometimes. WHY? It only takes one moment to change yours or another person’s life. It’s just not worth it. I pledge to be text-driving free in 2015, even if I’m at a stoplight or stop sign. If you’re my friend, you’ll understand. It can wait. (I can hear my mom now: YOU DO WHAT?!)

I am not always late to work, but I do occasionally show up 5-10 minutes “late.” I am fortunate enough at work that my boss, one of the officers of the company, is rather laid back. So long as I stay later, put in my hours, and get my work done, he doesn’t care if I’m 5 minutes or 20 minutes late. Regardless, I’ve come a little too much to depend on this, and screw up my priorities. If I want to change my outfit or do a bit extra makeup, I take the time and show up a couple minutes late. I have not always been this way, but I’ve taken advantage of it a bit. I want to be on time every day in 2015. It’s best to make that change now than to get in a permanent habit. If I have to wake up earlier to make that happen, so be it.

Resolution #4: Give back.

2014 was a pretty terrible year in terms of selfishness. I started off the year by picking up an expensive beauty addiction, then I subscribed to a million and one subscription boxes, and when my no-new-clothes challenge was finally over, I went buck wild on spending. I used to be so selfless. I really just gave into my compulsion and let myself get whatever I wanted. I don’t know where I made this turn.

I’m starting off 2015 by realigning my priorities. Because I am overwhelmingly compulsive, I am either all in or all out. I am putting myself on a spending freeze for the first quarter of 2015. The rules are simple: I can’t buy anything material*. I can buy gas, groceries, food (including going out–I will not punish my social life and my friends for my indiscretions), and obvious things like bills…but no electronics, beauty items, or clothes.

*The only exceptions are a fitness tracker and music. Ryan and I have been eyeing the Fitbit Surge which is due to be released early this year. Also, I don’t buy music all that often, but I typically buy 4-5 singles a month. I love to support my favorite artists and it gives me something to listen to at work and on runs.

I have enough new in my life, especially with how good my friends and family were to me on Christmas:

IMG_2362Ever since Christmas, I have been going on an apartment purge. No drawer has been left unturned, literally. Every beauty and clothing item has been meticulously inspected. I have a whole basket full of unused beauty items that I’m giving away. I did a 1-for-1 check on my wardrobe app to make sure it was updated with all new items and sold/donated items have been removed. I’ve sold/donated 111 items since my challenge has wrapped up.

Again, I digress.

The main point of this giving back is I want to stop being so selfish. I want to do something for my community. I have been interested in working with the Humane Society or another animal shelter for years, but I really want to get involved this year. I have always been passionate about animals. Sometimes animals are so much easier to handle than humans, ha 🙂 They can be so loving and smart, and they deserve to be taken care of, especially when its not their fault to be in the situation they are in.

I mean seriously, look how cute they are when you give them a chance.

I wish I could volunteer 10+ hours a week. The problem is that I’m already so pressed for time between working full-time, attending grad school, making time in the evenings for my boyfriend and puppy, and hanging out with friends, that I don’t know when I can make myself available! Not to mention when I start training for my marathon, that’s going to put an additional 4-8 hr strain on my schedule each week.

I’m trying to think of some other ways I can help out until I finish grad school and my race is over. There’s always financial donations, but I want something more hands on. Maybe a sponsorship for when I’m racing where I could raise donations? Or collecting supplies? I’ll have to check back in on this resolution. I’m determined to find a way to help animals in need!

So here’s to a wonderful 2015. You readers are so lovely, I hope your year is full of joy and many blessings. Laugh a lot. Cry when you need to. Enjoy the present. Be strong. Fight the battles that matter. Be adventurous. Don’t be too hard on yourself. Give. Make your legacy memorable. It’s never too late to change. Cheers!

FE19FDCHAM1XO Ali

7 thoughts on “New Years Resolutions Pt.2: 2015

    • I definitely need to work on positivity! It’s not that I’m negative all the time, but I would like to change the way I think about things…kind of like reprogramming a computer. More positivity = more happiness in general 🙂

Leave a Reply

