March Check-In: New Years Resolutions

Hi there!

I know I mentioned to a couple of you that I was planning my very first vlog/haul video, and I was sincere in my promise. It took me several takes, but I finally got enough footage together to edit and put out my very first video! However, editing has been a nightmare. I purchased an outdated video-editing software sometime last year so I wouldn’t have to pay big bucks for the newest version (since I’m just starting to get my feet wet in vlogging). I finally felt like I was getting some work done after hours working on a 20 minute video, and I lost everything. Twice.

bbhaulI was so mad, and decided to try something simple like Windows Movie Maker (laugh if you must!), but it was so much more user-friendly. Until I lost all of my work again. It’s not a saving issue, there’s something corrupt in the files or programs I think…so I apologize for the false promises. Hopefully I can learn more and develop a better one in the not-so-far-since-I’m still-upset-future. Tips are welcome!

Anyhow, I’m here today to check in on some New Years resolutions I set early in January. What good is a resolution if you don’t periodically monitor it to see how you’re doing?!

Resolution #1: Run my first marathon.

IMG_9581Well there’s not much I can do to complete this resolution until my race arrives in September! However, once marathon training starts in May, I should be averaging 25-30 miles per week to start out. In order to make a smoother transition (and not to wuss out), I signed up for a half-marathon in early May! This means my training will start NOW! πŸ™‚ I’ve already got in a couple good 3-4 milers in the past few weeks, and I’m feeling pretty optimistic about getting back into shape.

Resolution #2: Be a better person.

This one is harder to “check in” on. I am definitely more conscious of the words that come out of my mouth, but I still have a lot of room to improve.

Resolution #3: Be responsible.

I am happy toΒ report that I have been doing pretty well in this category πŸ™‚ I’ve been really good about just leaving my phone in my purse while driving, just to keep the temptation out of reach. I did thoughtlessly respond once or twice before realizing what I was doing, but I find I feel much more relaxed and free-minded when my electronic device is stowed away.

Resolution #4: Give back.

This is kind of something I’m doing for myself and not really something I want to share completely. I will mention that I have signed up to volunteer at a local animal rescue and had my orientation on Saturday πŸ™‚ I can’t put into words how happy and blessed it made me feel walking around feeling like I can make an impact on these animals’ lives, maybe even help them to learn to trust people again.

Can you imagine? Some of the work they need done is just to go in and pet the dogs and cats to get/keep them socialized. Best. Job. EVARRRR!

Ryan and I are also looking for a second dog, so it’s going to be dangerous being around so many cuties #crazydoglady

On another note, I have failed my no-new-spending for the first quarter of 2015… 😦 I was good for the entire month of January and what I thought was an innocent purchase of a limited Memebox spiraled into something else altogether. Surprisingly, I haven’t bought almost any clothes-items at all…haven’t even had the urge. I got 2 new pair of work pants from NY&Co. to replace some old, unwearable ones I got rid of recently, but that’s it! I did, however, make a couple purchases from Birchbox, Elf, and a couple of discretionary purchases here and there, including the aforementioned Memebox. I guess it’s not horrible, but it definitely feels like a fail. I haven’t decided if/how I want to continue this planned shopping hiatus.

IMG_2595Which brings me to another point: I have made the decision to go cruelty-free moving forward in regards to cosmetics and body care! I am thinking I’ll dedicate an entire post sometime this month about my reasons and how I plan on applying this in my life (hint: I’m not throwing everything out, but I will be strictly cruelty-free moving forward). I am also learning to DIY my own body-care (so far) and hopefully makeup too. How cool would that be??

Let me know your thoughts in the comments section below, even if it’s just to say hi! πŸ™‚ As always, thanks for reading!

XO Ali

9 thoughts on “March Check-In: New Years Resolutions

  1. Sounds like you have managed to keep most of your goals. Try not to be too hard on yourself since you have curbed your spending. Good luck in the marathon.

  2. Running is hard. I admire your persistence. Two dogs are harder than one. πŸ™‚ Good luck with helping the shelter dogs and cats. It’s a wonderful gift to them. Thank you!

    • Your comments always brighten my day! I was signed up for Petit Vour for a little bit when I was subscribing to about 6-7 boxes at a time. I really liked them, but I have so many samples to go through I’m just not sure I should recommit yet? We’ll see πŸ™‚

      • I’m excited to try it (Petit Vour) out! In all honesty, I’ll admit that I’m super addicted to high-end products, but I really want to find eco -friendly brands that are as satisfying to use. You know? Anyway, I’m with you. I’ve got a ton of samples to work through… but that’s fun, too. :o)

Leave a Reply

